Longlist announcement for Video Documentary

  • March 11, 2023

LAUSANNE, March 11, 2023 - The AIPS Sport Media Awards are pleased to announce the longlist for the Video Documentary category.

The longlist represents the first judging stage and is based on the average ratings of the AIPS panel of specialists, the Executive Committee members and the members of the Jury.

Find out more about the judging stages here

Here are the selected works, in alphabetical order of country:

Disclaimer: All names and information have been published as we have received them, for any corrections please contact us at info@aipsawards.com.


Omar Boudi, Zoheir Boudi (Algeria), The sudden cardiac death (The football tragedy) - Echorouk TV

Sergio Ferraro (Argentina), Sean Eternos: Champions of America - Pegsa / Netflix

Chris Danks (Australia), George Kambosos Jr: Rise of the Emperor - The Sporting News

Dan Goldberg (Australia), Sky blue: Inside Sydney FC - Mint Pictures Pty Ltd

Nikolaus Mahatsek (Austria), MAXimum Verstappen: The Flying Dutchman - ServusTV

Matthias Stelzmüller (Austria), Skate the World – The jump - DailySports / Skate the World

Dario Mehmedovic (Bosnia and Herzegovina), Rođeni - RTV FBiH

Rodrigo Araujo (Brazil), The reserves of 82' - Globo

Gustavo Rotstein (Brazil), Football and religion - TV Globo

Zhi Wu (China), Meet Wang Shuang: Footballer of China - Xinhua News Agency

Andres Posse (Colombia), Champions of life - Primera Voz

Nicklas Vinde (Denmark), Handball Diaries - Kielce - DAZN

Benoit Pensivy (France), 80 Minutes - 3W - What a Wonderful World

Aziza Nait Sibaha (France), Atlas Lionesses: Hear them roar - France24

Nicolas Delloye, Jonathan Taylor (France, Ireland), Chasing Tokyo - Olympic Channel

Nick Golüke (Germany), Felix Neureuther: Playing with fire, who still needs this Olympia? - NGLOW Film and New Media Gmbh

Christoph Nahr (Germany), My Games: Munich 72 – ARD

Jürgen Schmidt (Germany), Horst Eckel: The last hero of Bern - Südwestrundfunk

Benjamin Unger (Germany), Olympics 1972: The GDR and the terror - NDR

Kata Olah (Hungary), Conquering time Agnes Keleti - Makabor Studio

Balint Toth (Hungary), Kristóf Milák - The Prophecy - MTVA

Jonathan Taylor (Ireland), On Edge - Olympic Channel

Donald Oliver (Jamaica), Carifta 49: The story - SportsMax TV

Shadrack Andenga Odinga (Kenya), Tear of terrorism in sports - Mediamax limited

Oluwatobi Ayinde (Nigeria), Pitch of dreams - Yes FM, Nigeria

Ricardo Amorim (Portugal), “Quintana: An Extraordinary Warrior” - Porto Canal

Mariano Amiune (Spain), 72: A gathering of champions - Olympic Channel

Rebeca Arevalo (Spain), A brilliant curling - Olympic Channel

Santiago Castañeda Heredia (Spain), The eternal flame - Diario AS | AS Televisión

Pau Mitjans (Spain), My decision, by Andrés Iniesta - NSN

Daniel Grefve (Sweden), The Kvarnby Case - SVT (Swedish Television)

Oleksiy Mandziy (Ukraine), Sport facilities in Chernihiv destroyed by the Russian aggressor - JSC (Public Broadcasting Company of Ukraine)

Volodymyr Mula (Ukraine), The Football Nation - TeleProstir Studio

David Garrido (UK), Football's toughest opponent - Sky Sports

Louis Myles (UK), Croatia: Defining a nation - FIFA+

Claire Ryan (UK), Rob Burrow: Living with MND - BBC

David Tryhorn (UK), The Figo affair: The transfer that changed football – Netflix

WHAT HAPPENS NEXT Following this longlist, we will announce the shortlist and subsequently the finalists.

The final ceremony will take place in Seoul on May 9, 2023.

Stay tuned for the rest of the longlists!


How to participate

Learn what qualifications you need to be eligible for participation.

Awards given to each winner of each category. Chosen by the best judges.

Sign up to participate and submit your work for evaluation.