Top 10 announcement for Writing Best Column

  • April 10, 2023

LAUSANNE, April 10, 2023 - With less than one month left to celebrate world's sport media excellence, AIPS is proud to announce the names of the top ten journalists who competed in the Writing Best Column category of the Fifth edition of the AIPS Sport Media Awards. The chosen journalists passed a strict selection and will be on the roster of potential finalists, expecting the three names to be unveiled on April 18, 2023.

The list may contain more than 10 journalists because of ties in the voting.

The lists, published in alphabetical order by last name, are now available:

Alaa Abdel-Ghani (Egypt), Overseas aid - Al-Ahram Newspaper
Michael Aylwin (UK), No fix in sight as rugby edges closer to harsh truth hardwired into collision sports - The Guardian
Sujit Bhar (India), The distaff route - India Legal
Morgan Campbell (Canada), WNBA star Brittney Griner, detained in Russia, is guilty only of pursuing a salary that matches her skill - CBC
Saeedeh Fathabadi (Iran), We are journalists, not culprits: A glimpse into the troubles of being a woman sports journalist -
Daniel Gallan (South Africa), Will sport punish all murderous governments? - New Frame
Afsoon Hazrati (Iran), No institution is responsible, not even FIFA! - Zanan-Emrooz
Julian Linden (Australia), On thin ice - News Corp Australia
Marcela Mora y Araujo (Argentina), Thrown into the World Cup: The challenge of telling things as they are and at the same time believing in magic -
Emma Smith (UK), Thank you, Jake! Why Daniels' decision to come out can change football for the better -
Isabelle Westbury (UK), The inevitability of conflicts of interest in a culture of one-and-done - The Telegraph

WHAT HAPPENS NEXT Following this Top 10, we will announce the finalists.

The final ceremony will take place in Seoul on May 9, 2023.

Stay tuned for the rest of the Top 10!


How to participate

Learn what qualifications you need to be eligible for participation.

Awards given to each winner of each category. Chosen by the best judges.

Sign up to participate and submit your work for evaluation.