AIPS Sport Media Awards reminder: Submit now and join the celebration

  • September 04, 2023

The submission period for the AIPS Sport Media Awards 2023 edition is entering its final stage. Our website continue receiving works form all over the world. It’s completely free and open to all languages.

The AIPS Awards are the global prize for sports journalism, accepting works from all media professionals working in traditional and new media, regardless of their working status and with no restrictions when it comes to languages. These stories must have been first published or broadcast since 5 November 2022, until deadline of 4 November 2023.

SEND AHEAD, RECEIVE FEEDBACK While deadline is set for November 4, we recommend to submit now in order to receive feedback from AIPS Awards staff and director Martin Mazur, who will check if your submission form is all OK, and notify you if any action is needed, such as change of category, missing material (photos, links, PDFs) or broken links that could prevent you from participating, if found once deadline’s passed.  

As always, you can make changes, or delete your submission and place a new one, until the final deadline.

GLOBAL INTEREST Every year, more than 100 countries are represented in the 8 senior categories, each of them offering a maximum prize of 8,000 US Dollars, while the optional Under 30 category reserved for Young Reporters born since 1994 offers a scholarship at a top international event.

160 COUNTRIES In the 2021 edition, entries from 133 countries were submitted in 35 different languages. Last year, the number climbed to 138 countries. Since the start, 160 countries were represented by 4300 registered journalists.

FIVE STAGES The Awards, with the five voting stages before reaching the desired podium, are conceived as a celebration of our profession, with free participation and announcements for longlists, shortlists, Top 10, Podium Nominees and Winners. Each stage deserves a celebration, meaning someone’s work progressed to be featured among the world’s best.

CONTINENTAL RECOGNITION At the same time, the Awards also highlight the importance of the submissions on a local and regional scale. Continental rankings per category are also published in order to offer more opportunities and to celebrate those journalists whose works were among the most voted after the careful review of 40 pundits, Executive Committee members and jurors, in total representing 36 different nations.

Special commendations are also released yearly. In the 2020 edition, they were for the extraordinary reporting during the irruption of the pandemic. Since 2021 edition, our certificates of merit were aligned to the cornerstone values of AIPS, including fighting against racism and discrimination, defending Human Rights and gender equality, access to sources and showcasing creativity and new ways of reporting.

We invite you to check the Rules, the Categories overview, the Frequently Asked Questions, and the quick guide on How to submit (which is very, very easy).

We are also answering live messages on our social media accounts, both of AIPS Media and AIPS Awards, where we normally reply instantly.

Now it’s time to submit your work and feel part of the biggest sports journalism festival across the world. Go to and join the celebration!

Quick recap:

Final deadline for submissions: 4 November 2023, 22:00 CET (No possible changes and updates in your submissions after this date)

Valid window of participation: Works published/broadcast 5 November 2022 - 4 November 2023

Number of submissions per person: 2

Submitting in different categories allowed? Yes

Submissions only valid on

Senior categories: 1) Photography Sport Action; 2) Photography Portfolio; 3) Writing Best Column; 4) Writing Best Colour Piece; 5) Audio; 6) Video Short Feature (Up to 10 min); 7) Video Athlete Profile (+10 min); 8) Video Documentary (+10 min)

Young Reporter optional category (one submission maximum): 1) Photography (one picture); 2) Writing (one article); 3) Broadcasting Audio & Video (one video/podcast/radio)

Age for Young Reporters: Born since January 1, 1994

Special mentions as per 2022 edition: 1) Human Rights and Gender Equality; 2) Combatting Racism and Discrimination in Sport; 3) Contributing to the Development of Women’s Sport;  4) Safeguarding Journalism Working Conditions; 5) Defending Freedom of Press; 6) Promoting a Clean Sports Environment; 7) Climate Change & Sustainable sport; 8) Outstanding Interview; 9) Original Story; 10) Interactive Feature; 11) Young Reporter Special Commendation; 12) Long-form Journalism; 13) Raising Awareness on Mental Health; 14) Photography Special Commendation; 15) Sport for Hope;16) Special mentions on Investigative Work; 17) Excellence in Remote Reporting; 
18) Special Commendation on Local Reporting; 19) Celebrating Sports History; 20) Docuseries Format; 21) Total Reportage; 22) Scoop & Breaking News; 23) Special Commendation on Parasports; 24) Sports for the Next Generation; 25) Special Report, Visual & Data Story; 26) Special Topic of the Year: 2020 & 2021: Covid Pandemic. 2022: Russian Invasion of Ukraine


How to participate

Learn what qualifications you need to be eligible for participation.

Awards given to each winner of each category. Chosen by the best judges.

Sign up to participate and submit your work for evaluation.